Top 5 Cricket Stadiums in India

Top 5 Cricket Stadiums in India

In today’s post, we will talk about the top 5 cricket stadiums in India, and get important information related to them.

Top 5 Cricket Stadiums in India

1. Eden Gardens:

Eden Gardens is thought of among the oldest cricket stadiums in India. It’s the home ground for its Bengal cricket Team in IPL below the title of Kolkata Knight Riders. Unofficially this cricket stadium is known as India’s house for cricket. The stadium got its title in the Eden Gardens, among the oldest parks in Kolkata that’s only near the scene. Cricket Association of Bengal has their headquarters here in this stadium.

  • Name: Eden Gardens
  • Town: Kolkata
  • Condition: West Bengal
  • Stadium Capacity: 68000
  • Year Constructed: 1864
  • Initial Match: 5 January 1934

Stadium Features:

It is one of the most iconic stadiums in the world
Has hosted numerous foreign matches including the World Cup, World 20-20 and Asia Cup
The last match of the ICC planet 20-20 in the year 2016 has been held in the Eden Gardens, where West Indies took home the title beating England at a tightly fought match.
This arena can be sometimes used to host the Association football matches.
Through 2017, Eden Gardens has been the arena that had hosted the maximum International matches in India that comprised 40 Test Matches, 31 ODIs, 6 T20Is, 4 Girls ODIs, and 1 Woman T20I. In all, it’s hosted 82 International matches.

2.Feroz Shah Kotla Ground

The Feroz Shah Kotla Ground situated in New Delhi is the 2nd oldest scene in India that is still occupied after the Kolkata’s Eden Gardens. It’s possessed by the Delhi and District Cricket Association. The DDCA has decided to name two of the gates (No. 4 and 3 ) following the title of the cricketer turned commentator Anjum Chopra. In any case, they also have decided to mention two of its stands by the name of the former Indian captain Bishan Singh Bedi and former all-rounder Moinder Amarnath.

  • Name: Feroz Shah Kotla Ground
  • Other Name: Willingdon Pavillion
  • Town: Delhi
  • Condition: Delhi NCT
  • Arena Capacity: 41820
  • Year Constructed: 1883
  • First Match: 10 November 1948

Stadium Features:

As of 2016, the Indian cricket team stays undefeated for more than 28 years in the Test Cricket and 10 years from the ODI at this ground
Sunil Gavaskar hit his 29th Test Century at this stadium to tally the total of Don Bradman to the utmost Test Centuries.
This is also the stadium that has witnessed Anil Kumble using the 10 wickets in an innings against Pakistan and Sachin Tendulkar hitting his 35th century to break Sunil Gavaskar’s record and become the batsman with the maximum International test Centuries.
Since 2008, this ground has been the home floor for the IPL group Delhi Capitals.

3.Brabourne Stadium:

The Brabourne Stadium is your cricket ground in Mumbai possessed by the Cricket Club of India (CCI). Until 2006, this scene housed the 1983 cricket world cup trophy and was also the headquarters to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). After that, both of these were moved to the one recently built near Wankhede Stadium.

  • Name: Brabourne Stadium
  • City: Mumbai
  • Condition: Maharashtra
  • Arena Capacity: 25000
  • Year Constructed: 1937
  • First Match: 9 December 1948

Stadium Features:

This arena hosted the Test Matches from 1948 to 1972
After the disputes due to the ticketing arrangements created by the CCI, the Bombay Cricket Association built another arena, ” The Wankhede Stadium several hundred meters North of Brabourne Stadium, post this scene was never employed for the Test matches.
Aside from cricket, this floor was a host to different tennis and soccer matches and also music shows and concerts.
Lately International cricket has returned into Brabourne Stadium, also it was the place for its very first T20 played India in 2007.
Brabourne stadium hosted on the evaluation match in December 2009 to make a entire record of the biggest difference between the two test games held at the same ground.

4.M Chinnaswamy Stadium:

The Chinnaswamy Stadium is a stadium owned by the government of Karnataka. It is a 4-decade old stadium which is found in the center of Bengaluru. Originally known by the name of Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) this stadium was renamed as M Chinnaswamy Stadium as a tribute to Mangalam Chinnaswamy who served KSCA for 4 decades and was also the president of BCCI by 1977-1980.

  • Title: M Chinnaswamy Stadium
  • Other Name: KSCA Stadium
  • City: Bangalore
  • Condition: Karnataka
  • Arena Ability: 35000
  • Year Built: 1972
  • Initial Match: 22 November 1974

Stadium Features:

This stadium is the home ground for its Karnataka Cricket group and also the IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore.
This stadium is used not only to play ODIs, Test Cricket and First-Class Matches but also hosts cultural and musical festivals.
This is actually the very first cricket arena in the world that has used solar panels to generate the electricity needed to operate the scene.
The first evaluation game by the Afghanistan team after being granted the Test Status was played at this scene against India.

5.Barabati Stadium:

The Barabati Stadium is an iconic sports stadium located in the Cuttack, Odisha. This Stadium is the home ground for your Odisha Cricket team and has hosted many International Cricket games on a regular basis.

Owned by the Odisha Cricket Association, this stadium can be used by the Association Soccer to host Santosh Trophy national soccer tournament and the Odisha First Division League football games. This cricket and soccer stadium is equipped with the floodlights and is a regular venue for the ODIs.

  • Title: Barabati Stadium
  • Town: Cuttack
  • Condition: Odisha
  • Stadium Capacity: 45,000
  • Year Constructed: 1958
  • Initial Match: 27 January 1982

Stadium Features:

This arena hosted the third ODI in this nation in January 1982 in which India beat England by 5 wickets and won the series by 2-1.
The arena hosted its last test set back in 1995-96 from New Zealand that was severely affected by rains and offered significantly less than 180 overs of playing time.
This stadium is no longer a regular Test Match place, but it proceeds to host ODIs on a regular basis.
The indoor cricket hallway in the Barabati Stadium was appointed after Sachin Tendulkar.


Read This:

Kings XI Punjab Final  Squads(VIVO IPL 2020):
Sunrisers Hyderabad Final Team Squads(VIVO IPL 2020):
Kolkata Knight Riders Final Team Squads(VIVO IPL 2020):
Rajasthan Royals Final Team Squads(VIVO IPL 2020):

IPl Official website:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *